The Girl on the Train

 

girlontrainposter

I haven’t read the book, so I can’t compare it to the movie. However, the movie was pretty good. I’d read some mixed reviews- some saying it was fabulous and did the book justice, others saying it was predictable and awful.

I think it was pretty good. I was interested in all three characters and I couldn’t quite guess who the culprit was. I had a sneaking suspicion that became clearer when the culprit was continually  passed over, and not examined in as much detail as the others. Their identity is finally spelled out clearly in the last thirty minutes of the movie.

It’s an interesting study in the psychology of an alcoholic ex-wife and the two women in her ex-husband’s life. Jennifer Lawrence really looks different in this movie for some reason. I can’t figure out why it seems so, but I think it might have to do with the fact that you can see her freckles/she’s wearing less foundation?

Emily Blunt gives a great performance as the lead. The cast is very star-studded, with even Lisa Kudrow making an appearance. Overall, I’d say it was a fair movie, but I wouldn’t watch it again.

Leave a Reply

