Punch-Drunk Love

It’s not often that I pay attention to the sound track of a movie- it either means its really good or really bad. In this case, the soundtrack annoyed me half to death throughout the movie with its clacking and random percussion noises- plus the movie was already moving so slowly and seemingly aimlessly in the first half hour that I found myself continually turning off the tab and wandering around the internet.

And the dialogue- why does everyone repeat themselves at least five times? It’s exhausting- and it’s not just the protagonist’s sisters, although they’re at least justified in their specific characterization as relentless and countless. Nothing about this movie surprised me or made me love it- plot: predictable, protagonist: strange, verdict: meh.

I’ve enjoyed Paul Thomas Anderson’s other work (There Will Be Blood and Magnolia), but this really didn’t cut it. Apparently, this is an unpopular opinion- “Odd, touching, and unique, Punch-Drunk Love is also delightfully funny, utilizing Adam Sandler’s comic persona to explore the life of a lonely guy who finds love.” The only part of that that I agree with is that yes it is odd and unique, and Sandler gives a solid performance. But funny? It felt more tragic and desperate to me.

Leave a Reply

