City of God

What a movie.

I had heard about this film in high school and avoided watching it because I thought it would be too graphic/sad. This was before I watched American Horror Story, The Following etc.- before I watched so much TV and seen so many lives and tragedies played out on the small screen that I became desensitized to it a bit, though I still tear up occasionally.

But what a story. I am only halfway through it right now, but I already have so much admiration for this film. Dammit, I think these posts might just become me gushing over how much I love a certain movie for a few paragraphs.

I can’t describe how great the writing is in this movie. They could have stopped at killing Knock-out Ned, but the greatness just kept on coming. Or I should say, the sadness, death, and carnage.

Leave a Reply

