Everyone’s a critic

I think there’s always a danger in writing blog posts about anything- you can come off distorted in them- weird, pretentious, self-aware etc- there’s just something about writing down my thoughts that seems to shift their meaning a little.

But if you don’t work at something it’ll never get better, right? So I’ve decided to try to hone that transition, to get my meaning across in exactly the way I want, with the right words, with not too much effort and no pretentiousness.

I feel like that last bit is always a little hard to accomplish, especially when you’ve decided to write about movies. Even more so when you’re not at all qualified to write about movies. I might be the least well-watched cinephile, but I’m hoping to change that this year. I’ve seen quite a few of the ‘classics’ and the blockbusters, most of those that spawned cultural icons or endless quotes- but I don’t really know much about the technical side of cinema, or the great foreign films (mostly due to lack of available subtitles).

Like Herzog or Bergman- these towering giants who inspired people like Spielberg, but whose names I’ve only heard in passing, and only seen a couple of their films. I don’t really know what I’m searching for in starting out on this quest, but I know I’m missing something. And I aim to find it.

Leave a Reply

